Every little thing You Require to Know About Soccer at the Beijing Olympics in 2008

Undoubtedly soccer is the world’s biggest game. Certain the Globe Cup, F.A Cup or UEFA cup could draw more interest but for all the teams competing in this year’s Beijing Olympics there will be some extremely determined players who want to win that gold medal.

The soccer games of the Beijing Olympic Games will be held from August 6-23, 2008 in 5 cities such as the host city of Beijing, Shanghai, Shenyang, Tianjin and Qinhuangdao. The finals for guys and ladies will be held in Beijing exactly where 3 venues are situated: the Workers’ Stadium, the Olympic Sports Center Stadium and the National Stadium. The venues outdoors Beijing are: Shanghai Stadium, Tianjin Olympic Center Stadium, Shenyang Olympic Sport Center Stadium, and Qinhuangdao Olympic Sports Center Stadium. These state of the art stadiums will give spectators with a fantastic facility to get pleasure from the games.

Football was initial introduced in 1900 and 1904 as an exhibition sport and became the initial group sport integrated in the Olympic Games. Since 1908, the sport has been held at every single Olympic Games with the exception of 1932 in Los Angeles. The European teams dominated the Olympics until 1992, when Spain became the last European team to win a gold medal.

Women’s football was introduced in 1996 in Atlanta where the USA won the gold medal in and then again in Athens in 2004.

The competition permits for 3 players more than the age of 23 to compete. Although a prestigious event, many of the globe ideal players will not play due to contractual obligations with their own professional teams. They also do not want to danger obtaining an injury and typically have stress placed on them by their team managers who do not want them to play in the games.

The sixteen qualified nations for the men’s occasion are: Australia, Japan, Korea Republic, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Nigeria, Belgium, Italy, Netherlands, Serbia, Honduras, United States of America, New Zealand, Brazil, Argentina, and the host nation of China.

The four men’s groups are as follows: Group A contains Cote d’Ivoire, Argentina, Australia and Serbia. Group B contains the Netherlands, Nigeria, Japan and Argentina. Group C includes China, New Zealand, Brazil and Belgium. Group D involves Korea Republic, Cameroon, and Honduras.

The tournament will be organized into group stages until they attain the quarter-final round will outcome in losing teams getting knocked out of the competition. All 4 teams that make the semi finals will figure out who wins the medals with the fourth team missing out.

Group stage matches will start on August 7th with the quarter finals on August 16th, the semi finals on August 19th, the loser’s final on August 22nd and the winner’s final to be held on August 23rd.

The women’s tournament consists of 12 teams, 4 a lot more than they had in Athens. Group E consists of China, Sweden, Argentina and Canada. Group F involves Korea DPR, Nigeria, Germany, and Brazil. Group G involves Norway, United States of America, Japan and New Zealand.

Most of the major soccer games will be broadcasted by the tv networks. Even so, as usual each country will be most likely to decide on only those games where they have their personal national team competing.