Indian Music Fraternity Enthrall At Inaugural Chevrolet Global Indian Music Awards

Indian music fraternity enthrall at inaugural Chevrolet Global Indian Music Awards
Chevrolet GIMA Lifetime Achievement Award presented to nightingale of India, Lata Mangeshkar by A.R.Rahman and Asha Bhosle

Glittering performance by superstars Salman Khan, Saif Ali Khan & Kareena Kapoor

11th Nov 2010, Mumbai: The Indian music fraternity came out in full strength for its first ever multi-genre awards ceremony, the Chevrolet Global Indian Music Awards (GIMA) powered by Micromax. A historic night was in the making as maestro A.R.Rahman and Chevrolet GIMA Goodwill Ambassador, Asha Bhosle, presented Lata Mangeshkar with the Lifetime Achievement Award, set to tune by an enthralling tribute performance by Shankar Mahadevan, Loy Mendonsa, Salim-Suleiman, Leslie Lewis and Shantanu Moitra, among others. THE CEREMONY ALSO SAW PERFORMANCES FROM SAIF ALI KHAN, SALMAN KHAN (DABAANG SOUNDTRACKS) AND KAREENA KAPOOR (ICONIC FILM SONGS) AT YASH RAJ STUDIOS IN MUMBAI.

The ceremony opened with a performance from the iconic Asha Bhosle who belted the Sufi Rock song, Rab rakha. The Chevrolet Global Indian Music Awards, in its inaugural edition is supported by IMI, T-Series, MCAI, SAI and other key constituents of the music world. The show was hosted by Saajid Khan and Shreyas Talpade who cracked up the industry with their gags along with the beautiful, Dia Mirza.

A total of 29 awards under Film and non-film categories were presented at the Chevrolet Global Indian Music Awards including the Outstanding Contribution by an Indian on the Global Stage that was bestowed upon Pt. Ravi Shankar.

The Advisory Board of Chevrolet GIMA also announced a special award; keeping with the vision of the Awards of fighting music piracy The Best Anti-Piracy Initiative of the Year received by The Government of Maharashtra.

The Awards is an initiative of Wizcraft International Entertainment, Indias leading media and Entertainment Company dedicated to showcasing its expertise on the world stage.

Sabbas Joseph, Director Wizcraft, said GIMA is truly history in the making for the music fraternity here tonight. We are humbled to have witnessed such an overwhelming response to this pioneering initiative and are confident of taking GIMA to new heights in the years to come.
For more information on the Chevrolet Global Indian Music Awards, please visit

List of winners given below
No.Award NameWinnerSong/Album
Non-Film Music Awards
1.Best Music Debutant (non-film)Tulsi KumarRadhe Sham/Love Ho Jaaye
2.Best Popular Music AlbumKailash KherKailasa Chaandan Mein
3.Best Fusion AlbumDr. L. Subramaniam, Maestro Michael Kohler, Bindu Subramaniam, Kavita Krishnamurty SubramaniamLive At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig Germany
4.Best Devotional AlbumLata Mangeshkar, Usha MangeshkarShree Hanuman Chalisa
5.Best Semi-Classical AlbumUstad Rashid KhanKabir
6.Best Carnatic Classical Album VocalGanesh, KumareshAksharam
7.Best Carnatic Classical Album InstrumentalDr. L. Subramaniam, Ambi SubramaniamViolin Maestros
8.Best Hindustani Classical Album Vocal Ustad Rashid KhanReflection
9.Best Hindustani Classical Album InstrumentalPt. Shivkumar Sharma, Pt. Hari Prasad ChaurasiaSilsila Suron Ka
10.Best Non-Film Song Shankar Mahadevan, Rahat Fateh Ali KhanAman Ki Asha/Aman Ki Asha
Film Music Awards
11.Best Music Arranger & ProgrammerHitesh Sonik, Clinton CerejoDhan Te Nan/Kaminey
12.Best Engineer Film AlbumEric PillaiLove Aaj Kal
13.Best Engineer Theatre MixBishwadeep Chatterjee, Anup Dev3 Idiots
14.Best Background ScoreShankar, Ehsaan, LoyMy Name is Khan
15.Best Music Debutant FilmAlyssa MendonsaUff Teri Adaa/Karthik Calling Karthik
16.Best LyricistSwanand KirkireBehti Hawa Sa Tha Woh/3 Idiots
17.Best Playback Singer (Female)Kavita SethIktara/Wake Up Sid
18.Best Playback Singer (Male)Shaan, Shantanu MoitraBehti Hawa Sa Tha Woh/3 Idiots
19.Best Film Song Wake Up SidIktara
20.Best Film Album3 Idiots
21.Best Music DirectorVishal BhardwajKaminey
22.Outstanding Contribution by an Indian on the global StagePt. Ravi Shankar
23.Best Anti-Piracy Initiative of the YearGovt. of Maharashtra
24.Lifetime Achievement AwardLata Mangeshkar
25.Wizcraft Honor for Best Live Performer (Female)Sunidhi Chauhan
26.Wizcraft Honor for Best Live Performer (Male)Sonu Nigam
27.Red FM Most Popular Song on Radio AwardAll izz Well3 Idiots
28.HT Readers Choice Singer of the year AwardKavita SethIktara/Wake Up Sid
29.Most Popular Caller tune Dhan Te NanKaminey

For further information, please contact:
Atul Malikram
[email protected]